Posted by: Brian | April 20, 2008

Gooda Gouda Cheeseburgers

I think it’s about time to start sharing some recipes here. There’s a lot in my archives, and of course our newsletter subscribers get them all the time. So why not?

I’ve been travelling this week, and was judging a Burger Cook Off in Chicago. I can’t share the details, or the recipes (which would definitely be a detail) but I can tell you that as the summer grilling season approaches the competition in Burger World is going to be fierce.

I do love traveling, especially airports — an airport means that you’re going somewhere (or even going home). But besides that, it’s so interesting to watch people. Like all the guys playing with their crackberries. And the woman who dressed up in her finest pink track suit for the ride. I’m always surprised at how many people travel with their pillow. What’s that all about?

My favorite, though, was O’Hare itself, and the announcements they make while you’re waiting at the gate. Every 10 or 15 minutes they remind you that there are new rules for carrying on liquids or gels. You’d think that everyone would know that by now, but I still see security taking bottles of water and tubes of toothpaste out of peoples’ bags. But let’s think about this: if you’ve already gone through security, and you’re waiting at the gate, do you think that maybe — just maybe — you have a handle on the liquid-and-gel rule, and you don’t need to be reminded? How about if they told people that on the shuttle bus on the way to the airport?

But I digress. Since I can’t tell you anything about the burgers at the competition, I can share a recipe that came to mind as I was trying one of the top burgers, made from Gouda cheese.

Gooda Gouda Cheeseburgers

1 pound ground beef
1/2 cup grated aged Gouda cheese (you can use fresh, but aged is better)
1 tablespoon fresh chervil (or parsley)
1/4 teaspoon ground sage
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
dash of hot sauce

(I know you’re wondering about the mixture of fresh and dried herbs, and the tiny amounts. Just trust me, okay?)

Put it all in a bowl, get your hands in there and mix it up good. You can shape this into four patties, although I’d opt for three myself – just don’t make them too thick. Then grill them to your personal perfection. And you know what would make these even gooder? I thinking some kind of mayo with a sweet/hot tang, like a curry or chutney. Just not too much, because this recipe is all about the cheese.

Responses

  1. Sounds delicious! I love Gouda (a seriously underappreciated cheese, in my opinion) and the addition of fresh herbs sounds fabulous.


Leave a Reply

Categories

